CyberKiko FTPSync 2.9 Documentation

Why does FTPSync transfer all the files when a synchronization is executed for the first time?

The first time you run a synchronization FTPSync transfers all the files. All subsequent synchronizations only transfer changed files.

 

This is because FTPSync does not rely on comparing the file timestamps on source vs. destination, as this is sometimes tricky, but instead relies on changes detected between transfers - for this reason the first transfer is full, as there is no record on previous source state.

 

The ideal scenario for FTPSync is the following:

  • delete everything from destination

  • run FTPSync transfer for the first time - it will transfer all the files

  • use FTPSync for all further synchronization and avoid changing anything on destination via other tools

 

If you know your source and destination are in sync before running FTPSync for the first time, you can skip initial full transfer.

Created with DrExplain

Copyright © 2006-2013 Kristof Gajsek. All Rights Reserved.